Silverlight 5 RC – Getting started with PivotViewer

[Updated 06-SEP-2011 – NEW SAMPLES]

Lovely jubbly! Silverlight 5 RC is here

Documentation

Do download the offline help CHM or use the matching online MSDN documentation which is now available – MSDN PivotViewer class

Next step: I need some sort of “Hello world” PivotViewer application, please…

Hello New World!

Look in the “PivotViewer class” help at the bottom, and/or download my sample. I have uploaded this very basic sample for DOWNLOAD as some people seem to be experiencing problems. If this simple sample doesn’t work then likely there is something wrong with your environment. My environment is W7 64-bit Ultimate, VS2010 Sp1, Sl5 Beta (not uninstalled; I know, bad boy, but I was in a rush 😉 and then Sl5 RC. Also quad-core 8GB memory, here is very simple stress test SAMPLE too, feel free to modify it. This simple works when not served from a web server.

It isn’t pretty but that is not the point. If you are having problems then get back to check out why. Happy PivotViewing! I’ll post some better samples in the next few days.

Hello world from SL5 RC PivotViewer!

Hello world from SL5 RC PivotViewer!

Hello OLD World!

Here is a sample mixing some legacy CXML collections from Xpert360 with some Silverlight 5 RC PivotViewer and some styling for you to play with. Again feel free to modify.

DOWNLOAD SOURCECODE

And some screen shots…

PivotViewer sample Silverlight 5 RC CXML style

PivotViewer sample Silverlight 5 RC CXML style

PivotViewer sample Silverlight 5 RC CXML style

PivotViewer sample Silverlight 5 RC CXML style

6 responses to “Silverlight 5 RC – Getting started with PivotViewer

  1. Doesn’t work when running in OOB with debugger attached – whole window content (not only pivot control !) goes blank. Without debugger or in browser works fine. Tested basic sample and stress test sample on Web Developer Express.

  2. Hi,
    I modified your sample code to load over 10,000 records. Upto 10K records loading perfectly. After that it gives me an error.

    Error is:
    Error: Unhandled Error in Silverlight Application
    Code: 4008
    Category: RuntimeError
    Message: Layout cycle detected. Layout could not complete.
    MethodName:

    Please help me on this.

    Thank you.

    – Kiri

  3. Can you please help us in adding custom action button on items

  4. I loaded the stress test that has 4000 items and it worked. If I increase the number of items to 10,300 it works fine. At 10,301 it crashes with the following error message: “Message: Layout cycle detected. Layout could not complete.
    MethodName: ”

    Is 10300 a magic number in the new Pivot Viewer version? version 4 is able to load static collections with 13000+ items!!

    NB: I have 12GB RAM and a 3.3GHZ CPU

  5. Hi xpert360 I am looking for a export to excel button under silverlight 5 for all the items in scope and I am unable to do so would it be possible to include a guide or a copy of the code on how to accomplish this? I have gone through your posts in MSDN but all the links are out dated. It would be usefull if you can guide us on this one.

Leave a comment